An Introduction to the Parish

Crediton Hamlets is a large Civil Parish in the Mid-Devon District extending southwards and westwards from the town of Crediton. It is bounded to the west by the parish of Hittisleigh and extends eastwards to a boundary with the parish of Newton St. Cyres. Crediton Hamlets is largely agricultural and relatively sparsely populated, with about 1000 persons on the Electoral Register. The largest centre of population is Yeoford, with smaller settlements at Binneford, Neopardy, Gunstone, Posbury, Uton, Salmonhutch, Hollacombe, Venny Tedburn, Hookway and Barnstaple Cross. It also includes a small part of the Crediton conurbation at Westernlea. The Parish supports a primary school at Yeoford, and there are chapels at Yeoford and Posbury. Transport links in the Parish are mostly by road: public transport by bus is very limited, although there is a rail station in Yeoford with frequent services to Barnstaple and Exeter. The principle industry in the Parish is farming, with arable cultivation predominating in the red soil area in the northern part of the Parish, and pasture in the stony clays to the south, where there are also considerable tracts of woodland. In former times, stone for buildings and roads was worked from a number of sites: the large disused quarry at Posbury Clump furnished stone used in building Crediton Parish Church and is now designated a geological Site of Special Scientific Interest. Leisure interests are served by a number of equine centres, a golf course to the east of Crediton and coarse fishing facilities at Salmonhutch. At Yeoford, there is a substantial, modern village hall, which serves as a centre for community activities.

Interactive Map of Crediton Hamlets
Hamlets Parish Boundary Map

Please click on the map for a larger version Boundary Map of Crediton Hamlets Parish

The next PC meeting will be at 1930 on Tuesday the 4th of January at the Boniface Centre, Crediton.  The agenda will be on the website under Agendas and Minutes a few days before the meeting.

Avian Flu 

South West Trading Standards Service have advised that as of 3 November 2021 an Avian Influenza Prevention Zone was declared.  This means that all bird keepers in Great Britain (whether they have pet birds, commercial flocks or just a few birds in a backyard are required by law to take a range of bio-security precautions.  Biosecurity guidance and self-assessment checklists and all the latest information can be found at


Report a Problem with Roads/Paths to DCC 

Report Fly Tipping

Report Dog Fouling  

Devon County Council 

Mid Devon District Council

Ring & Ride bus service for Crediton Hamlets 


Crediton Hamlets Parish Council wishes to be supportive of worthy local projects which include climate change initiatives.  Please contact the clerk if you have an idea you would like councillors to consider.

Privacy Notice August 2020 





Devon County Council's Coronavirus in Devon webpages contain up to date information and advice on Coronavirus in Devon, including a symptoms checker and how to get a test.

Mid Devon District Council is providing support for residents through the Community Support Hub.  If you need support fill out the online form or call them on 01884 234387.

Local help is also available if you are self-isolating and feeling lonely, need assistance with collecting prescriptions or shopping.  Call Carol Price on 01647 24468 for a chat or information. 

MDDC is offering support for residents experiencing financial hardship because of the Covid-19 pandemic. Visit their Covid-19 Local Support Fund page for more information.

MDDC has provided information about accessing its services during the current lockdown

If you need help to get to a hospital appointment or your Covid-19 vaccination appointment the Voluntary Car Scheme may be able to help.  The Travel Devon website may also provide useful information.

Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue Community Risk Management Plan 

Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue Service want feedback on their 5 year draft plan for managing risks.  Here is a link to their feedback survey